Explore the Regions

Ohio's Appalachian Country encompasses 32 Ohio Counties, from the edge of Cincinnati to the edge of Cleveland.  It is part of 13 states designated as Appalachian by the Appalachian Regional Commission, due to several intrinsic factors, including geography, industry and culture.  

For more information on US Appalachian states and the Appalachian Regional Commission, please visit ARC.gov. 

Ohio's 32 Appalachian Counties are listed below by region.  Almost every county in the region offers a Visitors Bureau for information regarding attractions, lodging, shopping, dining and interesting sites to see.  We highly recommend contacting them to request additional information and to assist you in planning your adventure into Ohio's Appalachian Country.